Blue Eyes and White Lies

A writer, lover, thinker, and midwestern, book-loving sexpot.

Hunting

5 Comments

In the shadows cast by the streetlamps, Tegan and Damon stood watching.Their prey had been indoors for almost a week.

“This day time thing really isn’t working for me,” she said.

“If I could switch with you, I would. I’ve not seen the sun in nearly two hundred years.”

“You’re not missing much.”

Damon grunted and Tegan yawned. “Tell me again why I can’t bust down his door?”

“Because he knows we’re watching him and he’s smart. Perhaps smarter than you and I.”

“He may never come out.”

“He will eventually.”

Tegan yawned again and sat down on the grass. She stretched out onto her back. She looked up at Damon, but could barely make out his face against the backdrop of the star spattered sky. The breeze came and it chilled Tegan’s skin. She shivered and Damon dropped his coat on top of her. She slipped it over her cold skin.

“Thanks.”

He nodded. “You should go home and get some rest. I’ll be fine by myself.”

“What if he makes a move after I’m gone?”

“I will summon my coven.”

She stared at him and knew that he wasn’t going to let her stay another night. She was of no use to him this exhausted and she knew it. “Fine. I’ll go home. But after this is over you owe me.”

“Whatever you desire is yours,” Damon said.

“That’s a tall order to fill.”

“I’m up to the challenge.”

Tegan stood and kissed him on the cold cheek. She disappeared around a corner and was gone. He stood there in complete stillness for hours. He did not tire or grow bored, but instead meditated and snacked on the energy of oblivious passersby. By the time the city had finally quieted into slumber, the door of his prey quivered and opened a fraction of an inch.

Damon did not hesitate.

Author: Dallas Kelly

I love telling stories and interacting with new people.

5 thoughts on “Hunting

  1. Dear Dallas,

    Hunting is interesting and well written. That I read it all the way through and am writing to tell you should reassure you of that (not that you need reassuring). I am, as a rule, not too impressed with the glut of vampire and werewolf stories that are making the rounds now, but many people are and yours is good.

    Is that your genre of choice?

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Thanks, Doug! That really means a lot. As a writer yourself I’m sure you’re aware of just how much it means. 🙂

      Actually, this is my first shot at writing in this genre, which is partially why I started this blog (I don’t know what I’m doing and feel like I need a lot of feedback). Traditionally I’ve written more realist literary pieces, but have wanted to break out of my shell and try something different.

  2. Dallas-
    Interesting piece. You have my attention. Curious to see how you handle the relationship between Vampire and (I’m guessing here) mortal hunter. I hope you post more of it.

Leave a Reply

